Skip to main content

Version control with Git

Working with Git-based version control can feel a bit new. The biggest difference is that you don't incrementally save files, you just overwrite them. Don't worry, the data is not deleted. Anchorpoint saves a sort of "snapshot" of your project with each version. This way you can always restore older files.

Restoring file versions as increments#

If you want to have both file versions side by side, e.g. to merge changes from an older version into your current version, you can restore an older increment of this version. To do this, go to the Preview by selecting the file and pressing the space bar. On the right you can see all versions of this file. Right click on the version you want and click "Extract Version". If you leave the Preview with the Escape key, you will see that another file has been created.

Setting an older file version as the latest version#

If you want to set the current file to an older state, you can also do this in the Preview view. To do this, go to the Preview by selecting the file and pressing the space bar. On the right side you will see an overview of all file versions. Select the file you want to restore and click Restore File. This will put this version on top. Remember to confirm this step by clicking Version up.

Available commands#

Version up#

With this you save a local "checkpoint" of your project. In Git terminology, this is called a commit.

Publish#

With this you save a "checkpoint" from your project and upload it to the server. Your team will have access to your changes. In Git terminology we speak here of a commit and push.

Sync#

With it you download the changes of your teammates. In Git terminology, this is called a pull-.

Upload#

If you have multiple local "checkpoints" i.e. versions on your computer that you haven't uploaded yet, you can do that with this. In Git terminology, this is called a push.

Include All#

With this you can select all files that should be versioned. In Git terminology we speak here of a stage all.

Undo#

This will undo your changes and revert all files to the last version. For example, deleted files are recovered. Moved files are brought back to their original location.

⚠️ Attention: If you have added new files that have not been versioned yet, they will be deleted.